The Aqueduct of Vanvitelli or Caroline Aqueduct is an aqueduct built to supply the Reggia di Caserta and the San Leucio complex, supplied by water arising at the foot of Taburno, from the springs of the Fizzo, in the territory of Bucciano, which it carries along a winding 38 km route.
Commissioned by Charles of Bourbon and designed by Luigi Vanvitelli, its construction began in March 1753 and concluded with its opening on 7 May 1762.
Of particular architectural value is the perfectly preserved 529-metre-long section in tufa bridging the Valle di Maddaloni between Monte Longano and Monte Garzano - this section was made a World Heritage Site in 1997 and is made of three rows of arches, 55.8 metres high at its…
More information on UNESCO's website http://whc.unesco.org/en/list/549
Coordinates 41°3'32.52" N 14°24'9.079" E