The Churches of Peace in Jawor and Świdnica in Silesia were named after the Peace of Westphalia of 1648.
It permitted the Lutherans of Silesia to build three churches from wood, loam and straw outside the city walls, without steeples and church bells. The construction time was limited to one year. The third Peace church, erected in Głogów, burned down in 1758.
Since 2001, the two remaining churches are listed as UNESCO World Heritage Sites.