Church of St. Nicetas is one of the oldest parish churches in Moscow. It is known to have existed as early as 1476. Standing on Shvivova Gorka, the eastern slope of Taganka Hill, this small single-dome church once commanded a famous view of Zamoskvorechye.
The current church building, dating from 1595, stands on the older foundations. A tent-like belfry and large annex were added in 1685. The icon screen dates from the 1740s. The church has gone through more renovations in the 19th century but was restored to its original medieval appearance under the supervision of Leon David in the 1950s.
Coordinates 55°44'44.849" N 37°38'41.364" E