The Clinton House is an 18th-century Georgian stone building in the city of Poughkeepsie, Dutchess County, New York, United States. It is a New York State Historic Site and has been listed in the National Register of Historic Places as a historic place of local significance since 1982. The house was named for George Clinton, who served as the first Governor of New York and fourth Vice-President of the United States. He was believed to have lived there after the American Revolutionary War, but it is now known that it was never his residence.The house probably served as a meeting place for legislators during the time Poughkeepsie was capital of New York in 1777.
Clinton House was built around 1765 by Hugh van Kleeck who owned about 20 hectares of land south of Main Street where the house stands. In 1780, the house was purchased by Udney Hay, who belonged to Quartermaster Corp of the Continental Army.
Official website http://nysparks.com/historic-sites/1/details.aspx
Phone +1 845 471 1630
Address 549 Main Street, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601, USA
Coordinates 41°42'1.3" N -73°54'57.931" E