Salem Common Historic District is a historic district bounded roughly by Bridge, Derby, and St. Peter's streets, as well as Collins Cove in Salem, Massachusetts, United States.
The Common was established in 1667, and during this period it was partially a swamp. Until 1802, there was no enclosing fence, allowing livestock to freely roam across it. In 1802 a subscription was put forth to garner subscriptions to beautify the park to hide the digging of a series of tunnels around it by comingling the dirt from the subterranean passageways with the dirt from the hills in the park to fill in the marsh, the five ponds, and the river to the cove. Many of the brick homes around the Common and the district were built to hide the purchase of brick needed to build the tunnels. The tunnels would connect through the fireplace arches in these homes in the basement. The current wrought iron fence around the Common was built in 1850 and has undergone restoration.
Address 24 Church St, Salem 01970, United States
Coordinates 42°31'21.344" N -70°53'41.176" E