Greater London

Local nameGreater London
LocationUnited Kingdom

Greater London is a ceremonial county of England that is located within the London region. This region forms the administrative boundaries of London and is organised into 33 local government districts—the 32 London boroughs and the City of London, which is located within the region but is separate from the county. The Greater London Authority, based in Southwark, is responsible for strategic local government across the region and consists of the Mayor of London and the London Assembly. The City of London Corporation is the principal local authority for the City of London, with a similar role to that of the 32 London borough councils.

Administratively, Greater London was first established as a sui generis council area under the Greater London Council between 1963 and 1986. The county of Greater London was created on 1 April 1965 through the London Government Act 1963.

Download Download See more
Guided Tour of Natural History Museum London from 68 USD

More information and contact


Coordinates 51°30'26.358" N -0°7'39.531" E

Tours and activities: Greater London

Guided Tour of Natural History Museum London

Mobile voucher
Skip the line
Instant confirmation
from 68 USD

London: Night Photography Tour

Mobile voucher
Skip the line
Instant confirmation
from 183 USD

London: 3.5-Hour Shoreditch Street Food Tour

Instant confirmation
from 67 USD

Sygic Travel - A Travel Guide in Your Pocket

Download for free and plan your trips with ease
Enter your mobile phone number to receive a direct link to download the app:
Or just search for \"Sygic Travel\" in App Store or Google Play.
Sygic Travel Maps The world's first map app tailored for travelers
Use the app Not now