Hôtel-Dieu de Lyon was a hospital of historical significance situated on the west bank of the Rhone river, on the "Presque-isle". It has been out of use since 2010.
This zone is served by the metro lines A and D
First erected in medieval times, the building originally served as the "Confrérie des frères pontifes", a pontifical meeting-place and refuge for both traveling and local members of the clergy. However, when the first doctor Maître Martin Conras was hired in 1454, 'Hôtel-Dieu' became a fully functional hospital, one of the most important in France. As Lyon was a city known for its trade and seasonal fairs, many of the early patients were weary travelers of foreign descent.
Address 8 Rue Bellecordière, Lyon 69002, France
Coordinates 45°45'31.593" N 4°50'11.269" E