House of the Blackheads is a building situated in the old town of Riga, Latvia. The original building was erected during the first third of the 14th century for the Brotherhood of Blackheads, a guild for unmarried merchants, shipowners, and foreigners in Riga. Major works were done in the early 17th century, adding most of the Mannerist ornamentation. The sculptures were made by the workshop of August Volz.
The building was bombed to a ruin by the Germans on June 28, 1941 - a week after the launching of Operation Barbarossa - and the remains were demolished by the Soviets in 1948. It was rebuilt between 1996 and 1999 with funds provided by Valērijs Kargins, the president of Parex Bank.
Tue - Sun: 11 am - 5 pm
Open during events.
Official Website http://www.melngalvjunams.lv/
Phone +371 67 18 18 00
Address Ratslaukums 7, Riga, LV- 1050, Latvia
Coordinates 56°56'49.655" N 24°6'24.524" E