Juvisy-sur-Orge is a commune in the Essonne department in Île-de-France in northern France. It is located 18 km south-east of Paris.
The site of the town has been occupied from ancient times; it is noted in Julius Caesar's book about the Gallic Wars. Centuries later, it became an important place under the French monarchy, as a royal hotel. It would also be used as a post relay, the first one on the road to Fontainebleau. It became a major road and railway junction in the 1840s after its railway station was built in 1840, and after 1893 was the first city surrounding Paris with a bridge crossing the river Seine.
Most of the city was destroyed in April 1944 by an Allied bombing as the city was the only one surrounding Paris that had such a big railway station and had railway lines going to most of France's major cities.