Lacock Abbey in the village of Lacock, Wiltshire, England, was founded in the early 13th century by Ela, Countess of Salisbury, as a nunnery of the Augustinian order. The abbey remained a nunnery until the suppression of Roman Catholic institutions in England in the 16th century; it was then sold to Sir William Sharington who converted the convent into a residence where he and his family lived. It was fortified and remained loyal to the crown during the English Civil War, but surrendered to the Parliamentary forces once Devizes had fallen in 1645.
The house was built over the old cloisters and its main rooms are on the first floor. It is a stone house with stone slated roofs, twisted chimney stacks and mullioned windows. Throughout the life of the building, many architectural alterations, additions, and renovations have occurred so that the house is a mish-mash of different periods and styles.
Apr - Oct: daily: 10:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.
Nov - Mar: daily: 11 a.m. - 4 p.m.
Official website http://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/lacock/
Phone +44 1 249 730 459
Address High Street, Lacock, SN15 2LG, UK
Coordinates 51°24'53.1" N -2°7'1.848" E