Laufen Castle is a castle in the municipality of Laufen-Uhwiesen in the Swiss canton of Zurich. It is a Swiss heritage site of national significance overlooking the Rhine Falls.
The first documented reference to the castle dates to the year 858 when it was the home of the Barons of Laufen. It passed through several owners until the Old Zürich War when the castle was acquired by the Fulach family, from whom the city of Zurich bought the castle in 1544. Following the Helvetic Republic the castle was once again in private ownership, with the city of Zurich reacquiring the castle by buying it again in 1941.The castle now serves as a tourist attraction, and contains a restaurant and a youth hostel.
Coordinates 47°40'36.124" N 8°36'53.586" E