The Leper Chapel in Cambridge, also known as the Leper Chapel of St. Mary Magdalene, is a chapel on the east side of Cambridge, England, off Newmarket Road close to the railway crossing at Barnwell Junction. It dates from about 1125.
The Leper Chapel was part of the buildings of a leprosy hospital that stood a little beyond the outskirts of the city on the road to Bury St. Edmunds. Parts of the east wall are original, but most of the rest of the chapel was rebuilt in the 13th century, although it still retains many Romanesque features.
In 1199 the chapel was given royal dispensation by King John to hold a three-day fair in order to raise money to support the lepers.
Phone +44 1223 243 830
Address Barnwell Junction, Newmarket Rd, Cambridge CB5 8JJ, UK
Coordinates 52°12'50.132" N 0°9'9.276" E