The National Museum of Iceland was established on 24 February 1863, with Jón Árnason the first curator of the Icelandic collection, previously kept in Danish museums. The second curator, Sigurður Guðmundsson, advocated the creation of an antiquarian collection, and the museum was called the Antiquarian Collection until 1911.
Before settling at its present location, at Suðurgata 41, 101 Reykjavík, in 1950, it was housed in various Reykjavík attics, finally for forty years in the attic of the National Library building on Hverfisgata.
Sep 16 - Apr 30:
Tue - Sun: 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
May 1 - Sep 15:
Daily: 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Adults: ISK 1.500
Senior citizens (over 67) and students: ISK 750
Children (under 18): free
Official website http://www.thjodminjasafn.is/
Phone +354 530 2200
Address Suðurgötu 41, 101 Reykjavík, Island
Coordinates 64°8'30.998" N -21°56'53.002" E