The Taipei City Walls were established in 1884 in Taipei Prefecture, Qing Taiwan. Shortly after the Qing dynasty established Taipeh Prefecture in 1875, Prefect Chen Hsing-chü ordered the foundation of a new prefectural capital, with enclosing wall in 1879. However the soil proved too soft to support so heavy a structure, and the project was halted. Subsequently, governor of Fujian Cen Yu-ying and Taiwan magistrate Liu Ao undertook successive surveys to determine the proper location of the wall's foundations. Craftsmen were recruited for the construction in 1882, and the wall was completed in 1884.
Nearly five kilometers in length, it could be accessed by five gates: Taipei East Gate, Taipei West Gate, Taipei South Gate Taipei North Gate, and Taipei Auxiliary South Gate. The North Gate Auxiliary South Gate, and the buttresses of the East Gate were of particularly exquisite design.
Interior of the gate is not open to public.
Coordinates 25°2'51.825" N 121°30'40.403" E