A perron is a stone column, often decorated with a globus cruciger, that was erected in cities belonging to the erstwhile Prince-Bishopric of Liège. They were primarily built in the so-called Good Cities that formed the primary towns of the polity. Many survive, though not in their original form.
The columns came to symbolise local freedom and autonomy. This stemmed from their function as places where laws were proclaimed and justice was administered. However, the actual origin of the symbols of the column is unclear. In 1467, after recapturing the rebellious city of Liège, Charles the Bold, Duke of Burgundy, had the city's perron dismantled and removed to Bruges, not to be returned until after his death. This was "viewed both as a punishment of the people of Liège and as a clear warning to any Flemish subjects who might be tempted to question the duke's authority".
Address 19 Place du Marché, Liège 4000, Belgium
Coordinates 50°38'44.327" N 5°34'32.361" E