The Hog's Back Falls, officially known as the Prince of Wales Falls, but rarely referred to by this name, are a series of artificial waterfalls on the Rideau River in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada. The falls are located just north of Mooney's Bay and the point where the Rideau Canal splits from the Rideau River.
Prior to the construction of the Rideau Canal, these were a gentle set of rapids originally known as Three Rock Rapids. The name Hog's Back came into use shortly before canal construction. Civil Engineer John MacTaggart, in 1827, described them as "a noted ridge of rocks, called the Hog’s Back, from the circumstances of raftsmen with their wares sticking on it in coming down the stream." These rapids were about 600 metres in length with a drop of about 1.8 metres. They were navigable by canoe; no portage was required.
Address 590 Hog's Back Rd, Ottawa K1V, Canada
Coordinates 45°22'15.645" N -75°41'47.712" E