The Royal Observatory, Edinburgh is an astronomical institution located on Blackford Hill in Edinburgh. The site is owned by the Science and Technology Facilities Council. The ROE comprises the UK Astronomy Technology Centre of STFC, the Institute for Astronomy of the School of Physics and Astronomy of the University of Edinburgh, and the ROE Visitor Centre.
The observatory carries out astronomical research and university teaching; design, project management, and construction of instruments and telescopes for astronomical observatories; and teacher training in astronomy and outreach to the public. The ROE Library includes the Crawford Collection of books and manuscripts gifted in 1888 by James Ludovic Lindsay, 26th Earl of Crawford. Before it moved to the present site in 1896, the Royal Observatory was located on Calton Hill, close to the centre of Edinburgh, at what is now known as the City Observatory.
Official Website https://www.roe.ac.uk/
Coordinates 55°55'22.528" N -3°11'17.286" E