The Williamson Tunnels are a series of large subterranean excavations in the Edge Hill area of Liverpool, England, which were created under the direction of tobacco merchant, landowner and philanthropist Joseph Williamson between 1810 and 1840. Although popularly described as "tunnels", the majority comprise brick or stone vaulting over excavations in the underlying sandstone. The purpose of the works remains unclear, although quarrying, a philanthropic desire to provide employment, and Williamson's own eccentric interests have all been suggested.
They remained derelict, filled with rubble and refuse, until archaeological investigations were carried out in 1995. Since then further excavations have been carried out and part of the labyrinth of tunnels has been opened to the public as a heritage centre.
Official website http://www.williamsontunnels.co.uk/
Phone +44 151 709 6868
Address The Old Stable Yard, Smithdown Lane, Liverpool L7 3EE, UK
Coordinates 53°24'14.302" N -2°57'30.659" E