The Blennerville Windmill is a 21.30 m high, stone, reefing stage, windmill in Blennerville, Co. Kerry, Ireland. The mill has five floors, ground floor, intermediate floor, grinding floor, stone floor and cap floor.
The mill was built in 1800 by order of Sir Rowland Blennerhassett and has two grinding couples with on the spindle a gear that is driven by the wheel with wooden combs. The grinding stones are French bir. The mill was used for milling grain, both for local people and for export to Great Britain. At the end of the 19th century the mill began to decay due to the rise of the steam engine, the salinisation of the river channel to Blennerville, the opening of the Tralee Ship Canal in 1846 and the construction of the Fenit harbor in 1880. In 1981 the city of Tralee in the Urban District Council buy the mill and began the restoration of the mill in June 1984. The restored mill was officially opened in 1990 by Taoiseach Charles Haughey. Nowadays again wheat is ground.
June - Aug: 9 am - 6 pm
April, May, Sep, Oct: 9.30 am - 5.30 pm
Student, senior: €4
Child under 5: free
Phone +353 66 7121064
Address Windmill Lane, Tralee, Co. Kerry, Ireland
Coordinates 52°15'24.104" N -9°44'13.725" E