Citadel Hill is a hill that is a National Historic Site in Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada. Four fortifications have been constructed on Citadel Hill since 1749, and were referred to as Fort George—but only the third fort was officially named Fort George. General Orders of October 20, 1798, ordered it named after Prince Edward's father, King George III. The first two and the fourth and current fort, were officially called the Halifax Citadel. The last is a concrete star fort.
The Citadel is the fortified summit of Citadel Hill. The hill was first fortified in 1749, the year that the English founded the town of Halifax. Those fortifications were successively rebuilt to defend the town from various enemies. Construction and leveling have lowered the summit by ten to twelve metres. While never attacked, the Citadel was long the keystone to defence of the strategically important Halifax Harbour and its Royal Navy Dockyard.
May 6 - Jun 30: 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Jul 1 - Aug 31: 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Sep 1 - Oct 31: 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Nov 1 - May 5:
The grounds, washrooms: 9 a.m. - 5 p.m. Tours available, visitor experience services are limited.
Adult: $ 11.70
Senior (65+): $ 10.05
Youth (6-16): $ 5.80
Adult: $ 7.80
Senior (65+): $ 6.55
Youth (6-16): $ 3.90
Official website http://www.pc.gc.ca/eng/lhn-nhs/ns/halifax/index.aspx
Phone +1 902 426 5080
Address Rainnie Drive, Halifax
Coordinates 44°38'54.36" N -63°34'48.041" E