The Huniade Castle is the oldest monument of Timişoara, built between 1443 and 1447 by John Hunyadi and Paolo Santini de Duccio over the old royal castle dating from the 14th century.
The castle was rebuilt by the Turkish pashas in the 17th century and by Prince Eugene of Savoy in the 18th century. The structure owes its present appearance to the 1850s reconstruction campaign. It houses the History Section and the Natural Sciences Section of the Banat Museum.
In front of the museum there are two lamps reminding that Timişoara was the first European town to have introduced electric public lighting in 12 November 1884.
Address Timișoara, Romania
Coordinates 45°45'11.033" N 21°13'37.591" E