The Renaissance palace was built by Michelozzo di Bartolomeo for Cosimo de' Medici between 1444 and 1484. He moved to Palazzo Vecchio in 1540, but part of the Medici family stayed here until 1659 when Ferdinando II sold it to the Riccardi family, a rich family of bankers. They enlargened the palace and had the large hall decorated with frescoes by Luca Giordano. More Baroque decorations were added over the time.
The main draw of the palace is definitely the Chapel of the Magi with walls covered by frescoes by the Renaissance master Benozzo Gozzoli. The courtyard decorated with reliefs of mythological scenes is worth your attention as well.
The palace also houses temporary exhibitions of contemporary artists. Entrance to the exhibitions is included in the ticket to the museum and the Chapel of the Magi.
Mon - Fri: 9 am - 7 pm
(Last admission at 6:30 pm)
€4 per person
Official website http://www.museumsinflorence.com/musei/medici_riccardi_palace.html
Phone +39 055 276 03 40
Address Via Camillo Cavour 3, 50129 Florence, Italy
Coordinates 43°46'31.015" N 11°15'20.47" E