The Minoritenkirche, formally called Italienische Nationalkirche Maria Schnee, was built in French Gothic style in the Altstadt or First District of Vienna, Austria.The site on which the church is built was given to followers of Francis of Assisi in 1224. The foundation stone was laid by King Ottokar II of Bohemia in 1276. Duke Albrecht II later supported the building process, especially the main portal. The Gothic Ludwig choir was built between 1316 and 1328, and used as a mausoleum in the 14th and 15th centuries. Construction of the church was completed in 1350.
The top of its belltower was damaged during the first Austro-Turkish war, rebuilt, then again destroyed again during the second Austro-Turkish war; the top was then replaced by a flat roof.
Summer: 7:30 am - noon, 4 pm - 7 pm
Winter: 7:30 am - noon, 4 pm - 5 pm
Sat: 5 pm (Italian)
Sun: 8:30 am (German)
Sun + holidays: 11 am (Italian)
Admission to the church is free.
Official Website http://www.minoritenkirche-wien.info/
Phone +43 1 533 41 62
Address Minoritenplatz 2A, 1010 Vienna, Austria
Coordinates 48°12'34.176" N 16°21'49.706" E