Mission San Carlos Borromeo del río Carmelo or Misión de San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo, first built in 1797, is one of the most authentically restored Roman Catholic mission churches in California. Located in Carmel-by-the-Sea, California, it is on the National Register of Historic Places and is a National Historic Landmark. The mission was the headquarters of all Alta California missions from 1797 until 1833. It was headed by Saint Junípero Serra from 1770 until his death in 1784. It was also the seat of the second presidente, Father Fermin Francisco de Lasuen, who was in charge of completing nine more mission churches.
The mission buildings and lands were secularized by the Mexican government in 1833. They fell into disrepair by the mid-19th century. The chapel was saved from total destruction when the roof was rebuilt in 1884.
Daily: 9:30 a.m. - 7 p.m.
Official Website http://www.carmelmission.org/
Phone +1 831 624-1271
Address Rio Road 3080, 93923 Carmel
Coordinates 36°32'33.496" N -121°55'11.147" E