National Assembly

Local nameAssemblée nationale
Location7th arrondissement of Paris, France

The National Assembly is the lower house of the bicameral French Parliament under the Fifth Republic, the upper house being the Senate. The National Assembly's legislators are known as députés.

There are 577 députés, each elected by a single-member constituency through a two-round voting system. Thus, 289 seats are required for a majority. The assembly is presided over by a president, normally from the largest party represented, assisted by vice-presidents from across the represented political spectrum. The term of the National Assembly is five years; however, the President of the Republic may dissolve the Assembly unless it has been dissolved in the preceding twelve months. This measure has become rarer since the 2000 referendum reduced the presidential term from seven to five years: a President usually has a majority elected in the Assembly two months after the presidential election, and it would be useless for him/her to dissolve it for those reasons.

Tags Government OfficeOffice
Download Download See more
Self-Guided Visit to Opera Garnier from 14 USD

More information and contact


Official Website

Address Paris 75007, France

Coordinates 48°51'42.297" N 2°19'4.382" E

Tours and activities: National Assembly

Self-Guided Visit to Opera Garnier

Instant confirmation
from 14 USD

Marina de Paris River Cruise with 3-Course Meal

from 58 USD

Paris Highlights 2.5-Hour Segway Tour

Instant confirmation
from 57 USD

Sygic Travel - A Travel Guide in Your Pocket

Download for free and plan your trips with ease
Enter your mobile phone number to receive a direct link to download the app:
Or just search for \"Sygic Travel\" in App Store or Google Play.
Sygic Travel Maps The world's first map app tailored for travelers
Use the app Not now