Old Parliament House, known formerly as the Provisional Parliament House, was the seat of the Parliament of Australia from 1927 to 1988. The building began operation on 9 May 1927 after Parliament's relocation from Melbourne to the new capital, Canberra. In 1988, the Commonwealth Parliament transferred to the new Parliament House on Capital Hill. It also serves as a venue for temporary exhibitions, lectures and concerts.
On 2 May 2008 it was made an Executive Agency of the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet. On 9 May 2009, the Executive Agency was renamed the Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House, reporting to the Special Minister of State.
Daily: 9 am – 5 pm
Closed on Christmas Day
Full: 2 $
Reduced: 1 $
Family: 5 $
Phone +61 2 6270 8222
Address 18 King George Terrace, Parkes, ACT 2600, Australia
Coordinates -35°18'8.459" N 149°7'46.677" E