Santa Maria Maggiore is a church in Assisi, Umbria, central Italy.
The current structure dates from the 11th-12th centuries, although it was built on a pre-existing Palaeo-Christian church; the latter had been in turn erected above a Roman edifice, the so-called "Propertius' Domus" or a temple dedicated to Apollo or, according to the tradition, to Janus. The church served as the city's cathedral until 1036, when the title was moved to the current Cathedral, the church of San Rufino.
It has an undecorated façade divided vertically by pilasters. The entrance door is surmounted by an ogival arch and a rose window, dated 1163 and signed by one Johannes, identified by some with Giovanni da Gubbio, the architect of the Assisi Cathedral. The bell tower, built in the 14th century, is in Gothic-Romanesque style.
Address 13C Via Sant'Agnese, Assisi 06081, Italy
Coordinates 43°4'10.764" N 12°36'52.219" E