Royal Theatre of the Mint

Local nameLa Monnaie - De Munt
LocationBruxelles - Brussel, Belgium

The Théâtre Royal de la Monnaie in French, or The Koninklijke Muntschouwburg in Dutch, is an opera house in Brussels, Belgium. Both of its names translate as Royal Theatre of the Mint.

Today the National Opera of Belgium, a federal institution, takes the name of the theatre in which it is housed - La Monnaie or De Munt refers both to the building as well as the opera company.

As Belgium's leading opera house it is one of the few cultural institutions which receives financial support from the federal government of Belgium. Other opera houses in Belgium, such as the Vlaamse Opera and the Opéra Royal de Wallonie, are funded by regional governments.

Tags Wheelchair AccessibleTheaterOpera
Download Download See more

Opening hours

The box office:
Tue – Fri: noon – 6 p.m.
Sat: 11 a.m. – 6 p.m.

Also open one hour before each performance in the Entrance hall.


The ticket prices vary according to the performance and seating – see the fees on the website.

More information and contact


Official website




Phone +32 02 229 12 00

Address Place de la Monnaie - Muntplein 1, 1000 Bruxelles - Brussel

Coordinates 50°50'58.562" N 4°21'15.272" E

Sygic Travel - A Travel Guide in Your Pocket

Download for free and plan your trips with ease
Enter your mobile phone number to receive a direct link to download the app:
Or just search for \"Sygic Travel\" in App Store or Google Play.
Sygic Travel Maps The world's first map app tailored for travelers
Use the app Not now