Tibet Autonomous Region

Local name西藏自治区

The Tibet Autonomous Region or Xizang Autonomous Region, called Tibet or Xizang for short, is a province-level autonomous region in southwest China. It was formally established in 1965 to replace the Tibet Area, an administrative division the People's Republic of China took over from the Republic of China, about five years after the dismissal of the Kashag by the PRC following the 1959 Tibetan uprising, and about 13 years after Tibet's incorporation into the PRC in 1951.

The current borders of the Tibet Autonomous Region were generally established in the 18th century and include about half of ethno-cultural Tibet. The Tibet Autonomous Region is the second-largest province-level division of China by area, spanning over 1,200,000 km2, after Xinjiang, and mostly due to its harsh and rugged terrain, is the least densely populated provincial-level division of the PRC.

Download Download See more
Lhasa Private Day Trip from 129 USD

More information and contact

Coordinates 29°38'59.859" N 91°6'56.995" E

Tours and activities: Tibet Autonomous Region

Lhasa Private Day Trip

Mobile voucher
Instant confirmation
from 129 USD

From Lhasa: 5-Day Lhasa & Samye Monastery Discovery

Instant confirmation
from 628 USD

5-Day Lhasa & Yamdrok Lake Small Group Tour

Instant confirmation
from 590 USD

Sygic Travel - A Travel Guide in Your Pocket

Download for free and plan your trips with ease
Enter your mobile phone number to receive a direct link to download the app:
Or just search for \"Sygic Travel\" in App Store or Google Play.
Sygic Travel Maps The world's first map app tailored for travelers
Use the app Not now