Treaty of Teusina

Local nameTäyssinän rauhan rajakivi
LocationSotkamo, Finland

The Treaty of Teusina, Tyavzin or Tyavzino, also known as the Eternal Peace with Sweden in Russia, was concluded by Russian diplomats under boyar Afanasiy Pushkin and ambassadors of the Swedish king at the village of Tyavzino in Ingria on 18 May 1595 to end the Russo-Swedish War between the powers.

The treaty revised the provisions of the Truce of Plussa of 1583, restoring to Russia all territory then ceded to Sweden except for Narva. Russia received most of Ingria, with the towns of Ivangorod, Jama, Koporye and Korela Fortress. In effect, the treaty restored the borders predating the Livonian War. The Swedish-Russian border was delineated from the outstream of the Systerbäck river into the Gulf of Finland, over lakes Saimaa, Inari, the settlement of Neiden and up to the Murman Sea. Russia had to renounce all claims on Estonia including Narva, and Sweden's sovereignty over Estonia from 1561 was confirmed.

Download Download See more

More information and contact


Official Website

Address 74390, Finland

Coordinates 63°40'7.722" N 28°16'26.125" E

Sygic Travel - A Travel Guide in Your Pocket

Download for free and plan your trips with ease
Enter your mobile phone number to receive a direct link to download the app:
Or just search for \"Sygic Travel\" in App Store or Google Play.
Sygic Travel Maps The world's first map app tailored for travelers
Use the app Not now