The Abbots' Palace in Oliwa is a rococo palace in Oliwa, a quarter of Gdańsk. The first portion of the palace, the "Old Palace" was constructed in the 15th century. Later, in the first half of the sixteen hundreds a "New Palace" was added, which served as the residency of the then abbot of the Cistercians, Jan Grabiński. The final additions to the palace were made between 1754 and 1756, and were funded by another Cistercian abbot, Jacek Rybiński.
After the partitions of Poland the area became part of Prussia, in 1831 real estate of the Cistercians was secularized and the palace became property of the House of Hohenzollern. From 1796 until 1836 the Bishops of Ermland, Karl von Hohenzollern-Hechingen and Joseph von Hohenzollern-Hechingen resided in the Palace.
Official website of the museum http://mng.gda.pl/oddzialy/oddzial-sztuki-nowoczesnej/
Phone +48 58 524 56 99
Address ul. Cystersów 18 80-330 Gdańsk Oliwa, Poland
Coordinates 54°24'39.925" N 18°33'36.752" E