The Cave of the Winds was a natural cave behind Bridal Veil Falls at the Niagara Falls. The cave was some 130 feet high, 100 feet wide and 30 feet in depth. It was discovered in 1834, and originally dubbed Aeolus's Cave, after the Greek god of winds.Guided tours began officially in 1841, through Goat Island and descending down a staircase closer to the falls, into the cave. A rock fall closed the tour in 1920. It officially reopened in 1924, bringing visitors to the front of the Bridal Veil instead of behind it, on a series of decks and walkways. Tropical storm-like conditions can be experienced, as winds can reach up to 68 mph underneath the falls. The cave was obliterated in a massive 1954 rockfall and subsequent dynamiting of a dangerous overhang.Download Download See more
The park is open 24/7.
Cave of the Winds:
Opening hours vary. It usually opens at 9 am and closes between 5 pm and 10 pm.
Cave of the Winds Trip:
Youth (6 - 12): $14
You can also buy the Discovery Pass for 5 attractions and save money.
Official website http://www.niagarafallsstatepark.com/cave-of-the-winds.aspx
Phone +1 (716) 278-1730
Address 14303, United States
Coordinates 43°5'1.144" N -79°4'16.607" E