European Parliament

Local nameParlement européen
LocationStrasbourg, France

The city of Strasbourg in France is the official seat of the European Parliament. The institution is legally bound by the decision of Edinburgh European Council of 11 and 12 December 1992 and Article 341 of the TFEU to meet there twelve times a year for a session, each of which usually takes about four days. The majority of work, however, takes place in Brussels, and some other work is undertaken in Luxembourg City. Also all votes of the European Parliament must take place in Strasbourg. "Additional" sessions and committees take place in Brussels. Although de facto a majority of the Parliament's work is now geared to its Brussels site, it is legally bound to keep Strasbourg as its official home; a situation which garners much criticism from the European Parliament itself, as well as many interest groups, administrative staff, and environmentalist groups amongst others.

Tags Government OfficeEditor's ChoiceOffice
Download Download See more

Opening hours

Tours vary depending on season and type, please check the official website for more information.

Please note that visits are not possible during Brussels plenary sessions, office closing days and public holidays.


Free admission.

More information and contact


Official Website


Phone +33 388 174 001

Address Allée du Printemps, 67000 Strasbourg, France

Coordinates 48°35'49.279" N 7°46'9.427" E

Sygic Travel - A Travel Guide in Your Pocket

Download for free and plan your trips with ease
Or just search for "Sygic Travel" in App Store or Google Play.
Sygic Travel Maps The world's first map app tailored for travelers
Use the app Not now